Wedding Dress Shopping – Store #3

July 3, 2010

Last weekend, I finally went over to Robert Bullock’s salon to try on his dresses. I have been dreaming about trying on one of his gowns since I saw it in a magazine, almost an year ago. Since I started looking, I’ve known I wanted lace, but I hadn’t been thrilled with any of the dresses I tried on. They looked nice enough, but nothing had felt right. Every dress I tried on was heavy and stiff. I was getting discouraged and a little bit nervous that I had an impossible vision of my wedding dress and I was never going to find it.

Thankfully, I made a trip to Robert Bullock’s salon. The best part of the whole experience is that Robert was there himself helping me out. I could ask about options and know that the answers were coming from the person who designed the dress.

The Francesca gown was the first dress I tried on. I’d been pining forever, it was time to finally see how it looked and it looked… okay. Sadly, this wasn’t my dress. It was really lovely, but didn’t work exactly. But I tried on six or so more dresses and loved them all.

I have never had as positive of a shopping experience as I did at the salon. First of all, every dress felt wonderful. A lot of the dresses I had tried on previously were either true A-line or fitted at the hips, which I wasn’t looking for at all. Robert’s gowns are modified A-line. Essentially, the hug the natural waist and then go out, but there is no fabric forcing the skirt out. The fabric follows the natural line of the hips. Almost every dress I tried on had this shape and I loved the way all of them looked. And because they didn’t have layers of tulle or anything else underneath creating volume, all the dresses were significantly lighter than anything else I tried on. I didn’t feel weighted down at all. The fabric was all very lush and luxurious and the dresses felt amazing on my skin. These were dresses I had no problem imagining spending a day in.

And almost every dress looked great on! Like I said, every dress hit me in all the right places and made me feel incredibly sexy. I even fit perfectly into a couple of the dresses, no pins or clips required. I felt like each dress made my waist look incredibly tiny, which I am definitely going for!

This dress is one of the ones I tried on and it got great reviews from Julie, my sister, and Kelly, my maid of honor, but I didn’t love it. It was a little too modern for me. Some of the other dresses had the lace all over and I liked that more.

Ultimately, I didn’t end up getting my dress, because I narrowed it down to two that I loved. Since Paul knows where the blog is, I won’t go into what they look like, but the next step is to head back with my mother and grandmother and have them help narrow it down. So, hopefully, we’ll do that later this month.

But I absolutely have to encourage anyone who is looking for a beautiful dress and an amazing shopping experience to go to the Birnbaum and Bullock salon. The Stephen Birnbaum has his own line and they have a line together at varying price points. But it was the best experience I’ve had so far, planning my wedding and it’ll be hard to beat. I was the only bride in the salon at the time and each bride gets the same¬†experience.

Leave a Reply

