Wedding Dress Shopping – Store #2

May 24, 2010

This weekend was my second go around with wedding dresses. This time, I went to a small boutique called Camille’s in West Hartford, CT. I grew up in West Hartford and lived very close to Camille’s. As a kid, I always wandered passed the store whenever I was in West Hartford Center. They always have a beautiful wedding dress in the window. A good friend of mine bought her dress from Camille’s and had a really good experience, so I decided to check it out.

There were a few big contrasts between Camille’s and my previous shopping experience at RK Bridal. First of all, price. The dresses at Camille’s start at $1,500, while the dress I liked at RK was $740. The price really cut back the number of gowns I could try on. Secondly, I was able to work with an actual consultant at Camille’s. At RK Bridal, I worked with a women, Olga, but she was mostly there to help me get in and out of dresses. She wasn’t really trying to sell me anything. The woman I worked with at Camille’s, Rachael, was incredibly helpful and knew a lot about the dresses and the options I had.

Overall, I tried on about six dresses. Again, because of my price point, there were a lot of dresses that I looked at, but couldn’t try on because of the cost. My sister and bridesmaid, Julie, came with me. The first dress I tried on was one that she had picked out. It was.. definitely not what I was looking for! It had a lot of beading on top and beading at the bottom and ruching in the middle. Julie loved it! But I think ultimately we both agree it wasn’t what I was looking for.

This is the second dress I tried on. It’s designed by the Spanish company San Patrick, called Polka, and I don’t know if you can really see it in the photo, but the lace overlay has little polka dots on it between the flower portions. It’s cute. Overall the dress looked nice. I liked the bodice. One of the other dresses I tried on was nice, but the bodice was SO big. My boobs looked about three sizes larger and the ribbon underneath didn’t help much either. This was actually one of the only dresses I’ve tried on so far where the sample size actually fit. One thing both Julie and I liked about the dress was the scalloping on the top of the bodice. We both thought that was pretty and interesting. Neither of us loved the rhinestones on the ribbon below the bust, but Rachael said that we could probably get rid of the rhinestones and just put around ribbon there. The skirt is A-line, which looked good, but overall the whole thing is really heavy. I tried on one dress that was incredibly light and while I didn’t like the dress itself, I really did like how light it was. I guess I don’t understand why wedding dresses are so heavy. I mean, I get that the beading and the layers holding the shape underneath add up to a lot of stuff as part of the whole thing, but I always imagined that dresses were floaty and light and airy. I always thought I’d float through the day with this beautiful dress. It doesn’t work like that. And it’s a little disappointing.

I don’t think I’ll buy my dress at Camille’s ultimately. Partly because it’s in Connecticut and I don’t want to go all the way back to CT for every fitting. I had a really great experience there and really enjoyed working with Rachael. It was really nice to visit the shop I had passed so many times as a child.

Leave a Reply

