Wedding Dress Shopping – Store #1

May 14, 2010

So, this morning, my maid of honor, Kelly, and I headed over to RK Bridal so I could try on some wedding dresses. It was my first time trying on dresses and I didn’t want or expect to find “The Dress” in the first go around. I wanted to get a feel for the kind of dresses that looked good on me, figure out what shape worked best and really to make sure that the romantic, lace look I was hoping for, actually looked right for me.

I chose RK Bridal, because it’s no appointment necessary. We just walked in this morning and were immediately looking through dresses and choosing ones to try on. They have essentially a warehouse set-up, with racks of dresses, prom, bridesmaid and wedding.

After signing up, our consultant, Olga, told us to go look and choose four or five gowns to start. I knew I was looking for a lace dress, sheath or A-line. Going in I was focusing on finding straps, but there weren’t that many strap options, so we pulled plenty of strapless gowns as well.

I didn’t find anyone one gown that I loved. There were gowns that had the lace I wanted, but the shape didn’t work. There were gowns that were the perfect shape, but the lace wasn’t right, or it was only on the bodice and I want it all over. I tried on a number of strapless gowns, which I wasn’t too keen on going in, and Kelly is convinced that I need to wear a strapless dress. I’m still not convinced, but it’s early days yet.

I did learn a couple of important things today. I am looking for a modified A-line. I tried on a sheath dress, a mermaid dress, full A-line and the modified A-line. The modified A-line looked the best. I’m also looking for a natural waist. I tried on a few drop waist dresses and I just didn’t like them. It makes my torso look long, to be sure, but then it just makes my legs look short. I much prefered the natural waist. When I tried on dresses that hit at the right place, my waist looked really tiny. Definitely a fan of that! The dress here is one of the ones I tried on. I liked it, but didn’t love it.

The were a couple of things that surprised me about trying on wedding dresses. First, it didn’t take nearly as long as I expected. Maybe I watch too much “Say Yes to the Dress,” but on that show, it seems like it takes girls hours to try on three dresses!we were zipping in and out of dresses. We arrived shortly after 11am and we were out around 12:30 or so.

Secondly, wedding dresses are heavy! From a distance and in photographs, wedding dresses look so delicate and flouncy. But they’re not. Those dresses have a lot of weight to them. Part of it is the sheer amount of fabric. To get the shape, there are layers of tulle underneath the dress. Also, any dress that has a lot of beading is also going to be heavy. Between the two of us, Kelly and I determined that I wanted some beading, but not an overwhelming amount.

The other thing I was surprised to learn? I’m smaller than the sample size. I had ordered a dress online from J.Crew a while back and ordered a much larger size than I expected. Size inflation has put me in a range anywhere from size 2 to size 6, depending on the store, whether it’s pants, a shirt or a dress. But when I ordered from J.Crew, based on the measurements, I ordered a size 8. The dress fit correctly and when I was researching sample size gowns, I understood that most of the dresses fell in the 8-10 range. So, when I got into my first dress and it was enormous, I was surprised. Olga had to use clips to keep the dresses on me, so I could see what they looked like.

So, one trip to a bridal shop down. I’m heading over to Camille’s Bridal in West Hartford, hopefully next Saturday or Sunday. And I want to make an appointment at Robert Bullock’s salon for sometime early this summer. I don’t know if I’m going to have that wow moment, but I’m not there yet. I think today was a little too technical. I was looking at shape and style. I haven’t seen a full dress I like yet. It’ll be another step before I find a dress I love.

Leave a Reply

